Ibogaine Programs Saved 0
Home / Guides / State laws and funding

Ibogaine laws and funding by state (2026)

State money promised for ibogaine research

$60,000,000

Counted once from enacted ibogaine research appropriations: Texas $50 million, Arizona $5 million and Mississippi $5 million.

State money actually paid out

Unknown

Counted only when a primary record identifies cash transferred; the cited records do not establish a total, and grant awards are excluded.

The total excludes federal ARPA-H money, private matching funds, proposed budgets and donated support. Indiana has a further $600,000 shared with psilocybin research; no ibogaine allocation is stated, so it is excluded. Unknown payments do not mean zero payments.

Ibogaine remains Schedule I under federal law. State research measures do not remove federal requirements. DEA Schedule I listing.

Enacted laws and state decisions

The table separates enacted laws and budget measures from the Colorado advisory decision and a Nevada resolution. Research permission, a fund and an appropriation have different effects. Payment entries refer to the research money described in each row.

Ibogaine research laws, budget measures and the Colorado natural medicine decision
StateLawWhat it doesMoney promisedMoney paid out so farStatusChecked
Arizona SB 1735 (2025), Chapter 233, Section 43 Funds a neurological-disease clinical research grant administered by the Department of Health Services. The enacted budget has no private matching requirement. $5,000,000, one-time state General Fund appropriation. Nonlapsing. Not disclosed. Barrow announced a $5 million grant; the announcement does not state how much cash has been transferred. Enacted FY2026 budget, June 2025. Grant announced August 5, 2026.
California AB 1103 (2025), Chapter 571 Allows expedited Research Advisory Panel review of qualifying Schedule I and II research, including ibogaine, through a subcommittee. This is a broader research-review law. No dedicated state ibogaine research appropriation in this measure. Not applicable to this measure. No dedicated state research appropriation. Approved October 10, 2025. Subcommittee authority runs through January 1, 2028.
Colorado HB 26-1325 (2026) Creates a research pilot with up to five sites, federal authorization and Indigenous benefit-sharing requirements. Most pilot provisions depend on $150,000 in gifts, grants, donations or equivalent in-kind value before January 1, 2028. No state appropriation. The $150,000 threshold is outside funding or in-kind support. Not applicable to this measure. No dedicated state research appropriation. Signed June 4, 2026. General effective date August 12, 2026; pilot conditions still apply.
Colorado Natural Medicine Advisory Board recommendation (2025) Recommended including ibogaine in regulated natural medicine, subject to acquisition under the Nagoya Protocol. The legislature records this recommendation in its final fiscal note. Executive approval and funding are separate requirements. No dedicated state ibogaine research appropriation in this measure. Not applicable to this measure. No dedicated state research appropriation. Advisory recommendation in 2025. This row records an agency decision. No new treatment law was passed.
Colorado SB 25-297 (2025) Changes the broader natural medicine licensing and data framework. Database work depends on gifts, grants and donations. It does not dedicate state money to ibogaine research. No qualifying ibogaine appropriation. The $208,240 IT appropriation is backed by donated receipts for a broader database. Not applicable to this measure. No dedicated state research appropriation. Signed and effective June 3, 2025, Chapter 381.
Colorado SB 26-031 (2026) Creates a general prescription exception after federal approval and rescheduling or designation of a Schedule I medicine. It does not currently approve ibogaine or establish ibogaine research funding. No dedicated state ibogaine research appropriation in this measure. Not applicable to this measure. No dedicated state research appropriation. Signed April 20, 2026. Effective August 12, 2026.
Indiana HB 1001 (2025) Expands the therapeutic psilocybin research fund to include ibogaine. The budget funds a shared research account from the State Unrestricted Opioid Settlement Account. $600,000 shared with psilocybin: $300,000 in each of FY2026 and FY2027. The ibogaine share is unspecified and excluded from the headline total. Ibogaine payments not disclosed. A shared appropriation does not identify an ibogaine payment. Enacted as Public Law 213 of 2025. Research-fund change effective July 1, 2025.
Kentucky SB 77 (2026) Creates an Agriculture-administered Ibogaine Research and Intellectual Property Fund and a trial partnership framework. The proposed $21 million in each of two fiscal years was removed before enactment. No dollar appropriation in the final act. The proposed $42 million is excluded. Not applicable to this measure. No dedicated state research appropriation. Vetoed April 13, 2026. Veto overridden April 14, 2026, Chapter 158.
Louisiana SB 43 (2026), Act 956 Creates a Psychedelic-Assisted Therapy Initiative covering eligible studies including ibogaine. Permits research consortia and parish coordination using opioid settlements, with voluntary federal and outside support. No new state appropriation. Permission to use parish settlement funds does not establish a statewide ibogaine amount. Not applicable to this measure. No dedicated state research appropriation. Became law without signature June 23, 2026. Effective August 1, 2026.
Mississippi HB 314 (2026), final actSB 3061 (2026), Section 26 Creates a consortium framework for FDA ibogaine drug-development trials, coordinated with another state. HB 314 requires specific appropriations and verified non-state matching funds before disbursement. SB 3061 separately funds UMMC. $5,000,000 in FY2027 from the Opioid Settlement Fund to the University of Mississippi Medical Center under SB 3061, Section 26. Not disclosed. The appropriation and matching condition do not establish cash transferred. HB 314 and the appropriation in force July 1, 2026.
Nevada SJR 10 (2025), File 28 Urges federal research, rescheduling and access for psychedelic compounds including ibogaine. It is a nonbinding joint resolution. No dedicated state ibogaine research appropriation in this measure. Not applicable to this measure. No dedicated state research appropriation. Filed May 31, 2025 as an adopted joint resolution. It does not change treatment law.
New Hampshire HB 1772 (2026) Allows licensed physicians and qualified practitioners to administer ibogaine under an FDA-approved research protocol to the extent federal law permits. No proposed consortium appropriation survived. No dedicated state ibogaine research appropriation in this measure. Not applicable to this measure. No dedicated state research appropriation. Signed July 15, 2026, Chapter 333. Effective September 13, 2026.
Ohio HB 96 (2025), Section 751.40 Creates a temporary Ibogaine Treatment Study Committee to assess research and treatment questions. Its report is due December 31, 2027. A committee is not a funded clinical trial. No dedicated state ibogaine research appropriation in this measure. Not applicable to this measure. No dedicated state research appropriation. Created in the FY2026 and FY2027 budget. First meeting December 10, 2025.
Oklahoma HB 3834 (2026), Chapter 319 Creates the Oklahoma Breakthrough Therapy Act, a clinical-trial contracting framework and an Ibogaine Development Revolving Fund. Contracts depend on available funds. The fund can receive future appropriations, royalties and outside support. No dollar appropriation in this act. Creating a revolving fund does not fund it. Not applicable to this measure. No dedicated state research appropriation. Approved May 12, 2026. Effective November 1, 2026.
Tennessee SB 2149 / HB 2075 (2026) The final HOPE Treatment Act permits federally compliant ibogaine trials in qualified settings under physician medical direction. It authorizes federal, private or philanthropic support. The earlier council and innovation fund were removed. No dedicated state ibogaine research appropriation in this measure. Not applicable to this measure. No dedicated state research appropriation. Signed and effective May 22, 2026, Public Chapter 1119.
Texas SB 2308 (2025)SB 1, Article IX, Section 18.74 Creates a university, hospital and drug-developer consortium framework for FDA ibogaine development trials. The separate budget appropriates research money. The statute requires verified non-state matching funds before disbursement. $50,000,000 General Revenue in FY2026, with unspent funds carried into FY2027. Counted once under SB 1. Not disclosed. A December 2025 university announcement calls $50 million awarded; it does not verify cash paid. SB 2308 effective June 11, 2025. March 31, 2026 statement says Texas intends to fully fund its own program.

Failed, vetoed and pending bills

Proposed amounts do not enter the funding total. A bill left in committee when its final session ended is listed as not enacted. Pending means the legislature still records it as active in the current biennium. Broader Massachusetts proposals are identified as such.

Measures that have not become law
StateBillWhat it proposedStatus and dateChecked
Arizona HB 2871 (2025) Standalone ibogaine grant proposal. The funding was enacted through SB 1735 instead. Not enacted as HB 2871. Senate Appropriations recommended passage March 11, 2025; Senate Rules recorded no action. Funding appears in the budget listed above.
Georgia HB 1296 (2026)SB 631 (2026) Veteran and first-responder breakthrough-treatment research proposals, including ibogaine. Not enacted in the 2026 session. HB 1296 passed the House March 4 and reached Senate committee March 6. SB 631 reached Senate committee March 25.
Kentucky SB 240 (2025) Predecessor ibogaine research-fund proposal. Not enacted in the 2025 session. Last action: Senate Health Services referral February 20, 2025.
Maryland SB 527 (2026)HB 1477 (2026) Ibogaine clinical research grants, with proposed $500,000 annual funding in FY2028 through FY2030. Not enacted before April 13, 2026 regular-session adjournment. Senate hearing February 24; House hearing March 10.
Massachusetts H.4200 (2025 and 2026) A broader psychedelic clinic pilot. The text leaves materials to the health department and does not expressly name ibogaine. Pending in House Ways and Means. Latest recorded referral July 23, 2026. No enacted ibogaine appropriation.
Massachusetts S.1400 (2025 and 2026) A broader psychedelic mental health pilot, rather than an ibogaine-specific funding bill. Pending in Senate Ways and Means since October 2, 2025.
Mississippi SB 2561 (2026), introduced text Alternative ibogaine drug-development consortium proposal, separate from enacted HB 314. Not enacted in the 2026 regular session, which ended April 15, 2026. Individual official action history was unavailable on this check.
Mississippi SB 2562 (2026), introduced text Veterans PTSD ibogaine research pilot, with federal protocol and controlled-substance requirements. Not enacted in the 2026 regular session, which ended April 15, 2026. Individual official action history was unavailable on this check.
Missouri HB 2961 (2026)HB 2817 (2026) Creates an ibogaine study fund and clinical-trial grants. HB 2961 was incorporated into the combined House substitute. Not enacted in the 2026 regular session. Combined substitute reported February 26; combined measure last on the formal perfection calendar May 7, 2026.
Nevada AB 378 (2025) Broader psychedelic research pilot explicitly including ibogaine. Not enacted. No further action at June 3, 2025 adjournment after referral to Ways and Means.
New York A9583 (2026) Veterans PTSD ibogaine research grants, subject to appropriation and non-state matching funds. Pending in Assembly Health. Referred January 21, 2026.
New York S1817 (2025 and 2026)A1522 (2025 and 2026) Directs the state addiction-services agency to support ibogaine clinical research for substance use treatment. Pending. S1817 advanced to Senate Finance April 29, 2026; A1522 referred to Assembly Alcoholism and Drug Abuse January 7, 2026.
New York S4664 (2025 and 2026) Health department study of ibogaine for PTSD, including veterans and first responders. Pending in Senate Health. Referred January 7, 2026.
New York A628 (2025 and 2026) Broader adult natural-hallucinogen reform explicitly including ibogaine possession and use. Pending in Assembly Health. Referred January 7, 2026.
North Carolina SB 1018 (2026) HEAL Act: proposes $5 million in research grants covering ibogaine, MDMA and psilocybin plus $400,000 administration. No enacted appropriation. Pending in Senate Appropriations/Base Budget. Referred May 5, 2026.
Oklahoma HB 4293 (2026) Veterans Mental Health Innovation Act authorizing ibogaine research. Separate from enacted HB 3834. Not enacted in the 2026 session. Last action: House Rules referral February 10, 2026.
Oregon HB 3817 A (2025) Amended to a health and veterans-agency study of ibogaine, replacing the original access proposal. Failed in Joint Ways and Means at June 27, 2025 adjournment.
Oregon HB 4110 (2026) Physician provision of ibogaine with a proposed state controlled-substance exception. Failed in House Behavioral Health at March 6, 2026 adjournment.
Vermont H.859 (2026) Psychedelic advisory board and proposed $300,000 for ibogaine development trials. Not enacted. Last recorded action: House Health Care referral February 3, 2026.
Washington SB 5204 (2025 and 2026) University study of ibogaine-assisted therapy outcomes. Not enacted before March 12, 2026 adjournment. Last action: reintroduced and retained January 12, 2026.
Washington HB 1433 (2025 and 2026)SB 5201 (2025 and 2026) Broader regulated psychedelic access proposal. Ibogaine could be added after December 31, 2029 only by board recommendation and rule. Not enacted before March 12, 2026 adjournment. Both reintroduced and retained January 12, 2026.
West Virginia HB 4626 (2026) Matching grant framework for FDA ibogaine drug-development trials. Vetoed April 1, 2026. The legislature recorded the veto on April 2, 2026. It did not become law.

How the money is counted

The promised total is $60,000,000 in dedicated state appropriations enacted in 2025 or 2026. Texas is counted under SB 1 rather than again under SB 2308. Mississippi is counted under SB 3061 rather than again under HB 314. The Arizona allocation is one appropriation in the FY2026 budget. SB 1, Article IX, Section 18.74. SB 1735 (2025), Chapter 233, Section 43. SB 3061 (2026), Section 26.

State-controlled opioid settlement appropriations count when dedicated to ibogaine research, as in Mississippi. Indiana appropriated $300,000 in each of two fiscal years for a combined psilocybin and ibogaine account. Without a published division, the ibogaine amount cannot be calculated. Legislative Budget Office enacted summary, page 28. Enacted operating budget, page VI-3.

Paid out means an identified cash disbursement from qualifying state research money. An appropriation authorizes spending; an award identifies a recipient. Neither proves that the recipient has been paid. The records cited here do not establish an aggregate payment figure. University award announcement. Barrow grant announcement, August 5, 2026.

Federal ARPA-H funding is excluded even if it matches a state investment. Private contributions, gifts, donations, in-kind support, estimates of future expenses and proposed appropriations are also excluded. ARPA-H EVIDENT funding announcement. Final fiscal note, July 9, 2026.

Where the figures differ

Texas. The enacted appropriation is $50 million. The March 31, 2026 statement expresses an intention to fully fund a state program but does not appropriate another $50 million. The December university announcement describes a $50 million award. These records do not support counting $100 million of appropriations or $50 million of payments. SB 1, Article IX, Section 18.74. March 31, 2026 state statement. University award announcement.

Arizona. HB 2871 was a proposal with a matching condition. The enacted money is in SB 1735 and has no such matching condition. Barrow announced a $5 million grant on August 5, 2026; the announcement does not specify cash disbursements. SB 1735 (2025), Chapter 233, Section 43. Barrow grant announcement, August 5, 2026.

Mississippi. HB 314 creates the trial framework. SB 3061 separately appropriates $5 million to UMMC. The enacted budget summary places the allocation in FY2027, rather than FY2026. Framework and appropriation are counted together once. HB 314 (2026), final act. SB 3061 (2026), Section 26. Legislative Budget Office enacted summary, page 28.

Kentucky. The introduced bill proposed $21 million in each of two fiscal years, or $42 million. The committee substitute removed the appropriation and emergency clause. The final law creates the fund without that money. SB 77 (2026). Chapter 158, final act.

Colorado. The final fiscal note says no appropriation is required. Its $151,536 first-year forecast concerns donated receipts and spending. The $150,000 startup condition also permits in-kind support. Neither figure is state research money promised. Final fiscal note, July 9, 2026. Signed act.

Tennessee and New Hampshire. Both are enacted, despite older accounts calling them pending. Tennessee removed the earlier council and innovation fund. New Hampshire removed the proposed consortium appropriation. The final laws support no new state dollar amount. Public Chapter 1119, final act. HB 1772 (2026). RSA 329:1-i, in force September 13, 2026.

Utah. The introduced HB 390 named ibogaine, but the enrolled act limits its defined therapies to MDMA, 5-MeO-DMT and psilocybin. It is excluded from the ibogaine enactment and funding total. HB 390 (2026), enrolled act.

West Virginia. The official action is dated April 2, 2026, but its description says the governor vetoed HB 4626 on April 1. The table retains both dates. HB 4626 (2026).

What this page covers

This page covers state ibogaine research, funding and access measures identified for 2025 and 2026, plus the relevant Colorado natural medicine decision. Broader laws and proposals are labelled. It does not catalogue every controlled-substance amendment that repeats a drug schedule or every local resolution. A state absent from these tables should not be read as permitting ibogaine. Status and payment evidence can change after the date shown.

For the federal position and what research laws mean for access, see ibogaine's legal status in the United States.