Ibogaine Programs Saved 0

Iboga Wellness Center

Also known as: IWC (not the Cozumel "Iboga Wellness Institute")

South Pacific mountains, Costa Rica. Last checked .

Open sitting area with wooden rocking chairs at Iboga Wellness Center.
Photo from Iboga Wellness Center facility gallery

Costa Rica's longest-running iboga retreat, explicitly not a detox and not an ibogaine clinic.

Facts

Facts about Iboga Wellness Center
CategoryRoot-bark iboga retreat, no detox, no ibogaine HCl
StatusOperating. Site updated September 2026, phone listed. Blossom's directory conflates it with the Iboga Wellness Institute in Cozumel.
LocationsSouth Pacific mountains of Costa Rica (no city given); also Gabon initiation trips
SettingRetreat house with eight bedrooms on six acres.
Medical teamNone stated.
Screening before treatmentNot stated.
What is givenIboga root bark and total alkaloid (TA). The program states that it does not work with ibogaine and does not do drug detox; the plant is sourced from West Central Africa.
Who it is for"Psycho-spiritual reasons only"; depression, anxiety, PTSD and addictions are listed as reported benefits.
Protocol and length of stay7 nights.
After the treatmentIntegration calls, preparation and integration coaching.
Published priceNot stated.
Licences and accreditations statedNone.
Founded / historyPage published 2012; "longest-running iboga retreat in the Western Hemisphere", 1,600+ people in 10 years.
Rating shown4.9 from 110 reviews, as shown on the program site on 2026-10-20.

Legal context, Costa Rica: Ibogaine is not illegal and not regulated in Costa Rica. Programs run from retreat properties and private clinics. Programs in Costa Rica.

Nearest other programs

Location

ProgramsUnconfirmedUS clinical trialANR (no ibogaine)

People's experiences

Research checked . How we read the accounts.

Guests writing on Reddit and Retreat Guru describe caring staff, food, natural surroundings and quiet processing time. Experiences are not uniform: another Reddit thread contains a critical account alongside a reply presenting itself as the center. Several enthusiastic 2026 posts repeat one writer's experience and should be read as one account.

Research sources: Read on Reddit (1) Read on Reddit (2) Read on Retreat Guru Read on Modern Psychedelics Read on Substack

Time to recover and reflect

A 2026 visitor describes a quiet day after ceremony and a later return to conversation with other guests.

Read on Reddit

Different experiences in the same discussion

The critical Reddit account is disputed by a center-identified reply; another visitor reports a positive stay. The thread does not establish clinical facts.

Read on Reddit

Care and setting

Readable Retreat Guru guests describe facilitator attention and connection with nature. The shown accounts are older, including 2020 and 2022.

Read on Retreat Guru

Allowing time after returning home

A January 2026 personal essay describes a meaningful experience alongside tiredness and disrupted sleep afterward. This is one person's account.

Read on Substack

Read the sources (5 pages)

These are source pages, not a count of people or reviews. Accounts can be repeated across sites.

Read the accounts alongside the published facts and ask the program about its current arrangements. Explore other centers.

Public record

No death, lawsuit or regulatory action involving this program was found in the sources checked. See the safety record guide for the risks that apply to every ibogaine program.

Questions

Where does Iboga Wellness Center treat patients?

Retreat house with eight bedrooms on six acres.

Who is on the medical team at Iboga Wellness Center?

None stated.

What screening does Iboga Wellness Center do before treatment?

Not stated.

How long do you stay at Iboga Wellness Center?

7 nights.

What does Iboga Wellness Center cost?

Not stated.

What happens after treatment at Iboga Wellness Center?

Integration calls, preparation and integration coaching.

Is there anything on the public record about Iboga Wellness Center?

No death, lawsuit or regulatory action involving this program was found in the sources checked.

Sources

  1. ibogawellness.com
  2. Mind Medicine Law guide

Facts come from the program's website and the sources above, as read on 2026-10-20. Statements about safety, outcomes and patient numbers are the program's own. Represent this program? Send a correction.