Ibogaine Programs Saved 0

Ikara Iboga Centre

Also known as: Ikara Retreat

Portalón, Savegre, Costa Rica. Last checked .

Pool, lawn and lodging building at Ikara Retreat in Portalon, Costa Rica.
Photo from Ikara Retreat on Retreat Guru

Small ceremony retreat in the Costa Rican jungle with no medical staffing stated.

Facts

Facts about Ikara Iboga Centre
CategoryJungle iboga retreat, Bwiti lineage
StatusOperating. HealingMaps listing updated April 2026; retreat.guru listing active.
LocationsPortalón, Savegre, Puntarenas, about 2.5 hours south of San José
SettingJungle retreat with a yoga deck and pool.
Medical teamNone stated.
Screening before treatmentNot stated.
What is given"Bwete iboga" whole plant (reviewer); lineage via the Gabonese organisations Ebota A Maghanga and Mboka A Nzambe.
Who it is for"General health and wellbeing".
Protocol and length of stay5 days, or 4 days with two ceremonies.
After the treatmentNot stated.
Published priceFrom $3,300 (retreat.guru); transport, food and lodging included per a reviewer.
Licences and accreditations statedNone.
Founded / historyNot stated.
Rating shown5 from 3 reviews, as shown on retreat.guru on 2026-10-20.

Legal context, Costa Rica: Ibogaine is not illegal and not regulated in Costa Rica. Programs run from retreat properties and private clinics. Programs in Costa Rica.

Nearest other programs

Location

ProgramsUnconfirmedUS clinical trialANR (no ibogaine)

People's experiences

Research checked . How we read the accounts.

Retreat Guru guests describe attentive facilitators, food and support after the retreat. A May 2026 Reddit writer also describes valuing the personal connection with facilitators. These are a small set of self-reports, with many older marketplace accounts.

Research sources: Read on Retreat Guru Read on Reddit (1) Read on Reddit (2)

Personal attention

Guests on Retreat Guru describe close attention from the facilitators, including support in the months afterward.

Read on Retreat Guru

Expectations for the experience

The Reddit writer describes emotional insights without the intense visuals they had expected. Their broad assertions about risk are not adopted here.

Read on Reddit

Read the sources (3 pages)

These are source pages, not a count of people or reviews. Accounts can be repeated across sites.

Read the accounts alongside the published facts and ask the program about its current arrangements. Explore other centers.

Public record

No death, lawsuit or regulatory action involving this program was found in the sources checked. See the safety record guide for the risks that apply to every ibogaine program.

Questions

Where does Ikara Iboga Centre treat patients?

Jungle retreat with a yoga deck and pool.

Who is on the medical team at Ikara Iboga Centre?

None stated.

What screening does Ikara Iboga Centre do before treatment?

Not stated.

How long do you stay at Ikara Iboga Centre?

5 days, or 4 days with two ceremonies.

What does Ikara Iboga Centre cost?

From $3,300 (retreat.guru); transport, food and lodging included per a reviewer.

What happens after treatment at Ikara Iboga Centre?

Not stated.

Is there anything on the public record about Ikara Iboga Centre?

No death, lawsuit or regulatory action involving this program was found in the sources checked.

Sources

  1. HealingMaps listing
  2. retreat.guru centre page

Facts come from the program's website and the sources above, as read on 2026-10-20. Statements about safety, outcomes and patient numbers are the program's own. Represent this program? Send a correction.