Ibogaine Programs Saved 0

Ambio Life Sciences

Also known as: Ambio

Tijuana area, Mexico. Last checked .

Dining table looking toward a pool and outdoor lounge at Ambio's Mexico residence
Photo from Ambio Life Sciences website

Physician-run program in private homes near Tijuana, the treatment site for the Stanford veterans study. One patient death was announced in January 2026; fentanyl users now stay at least 21 days.

Facts

Facts about Ambio Life Sciences
CategoryIbogaine clinic in private homes, physician-staffed
StatusOperating. Site copyright 2026, bookings open through 2026. No inbound phone line is published.
LocationsEight "fully staffed homes" in the Tijuana area, Baja California (addresses not disclosed) | Malta site in Mellieha Bay, opened November 2025 (listed separately)
SettingPrivate, resort-like "fully staffed homes" rather than a hospital.
Medical teamPhysicians, with Dr. José Inzunza as chief medical officer; 24/7 on-site medical staff "trained in emergency response"; equipment described as built for advanced life support. All clients have received IV magnesium prophylaxis since 2014 (Scientific American, on the Stanford study).
Screening before treatmentEKG within 60 days and a blood panel (potassium, magnesium, liver) before arrival. Methadone and Suboxone patients must transition to short-acting opioids, with a supervised taper offered; SSRIs, antipsychotics and stimulants are tapered; alcohol abstinence of at least 7 days. Since January 2026 fentanyl users must stay at least 21 days.
What is givenNot specified. The site says the ibogaine is "primarily derived from root bark" and "typically extracted from other ibogaine-rich plants"; Nagoya Protocol compliance is claimed. Given as an oral flood dose.
Who it is forAddiction, mental health, trauma, TBI, chronic and neuropathic pain, MS and Parkinson's are listed; the site states ibogaine is not approved for any condition.
Protocol and length of stayFoundational program 5 days; Detoxification program 7 to 30 days; Neuroregenerative program 4 days plus 3 months of microdosing.
After the treatmentA "Gray Day" recovery period, integration, coaching, optional microdosing and booster sessions.
Published price$7,350 to $30,000 by program (site). Blog, March 2024: Foundational $8,350 for 5 days, Detoxification $9,350 to $30,000 for 7 to 28 days, Neuroregenerative $7,350.. $1,000 off for veterans and first responders; alumni rate $5,350.
Licences and accreditations statedNone listed; no COFEPRIS number published.
Founded / historyOpened 2021 (company statement); "over 3,000 patients" by November 2025 (press release). Co-founders Jonathan Dickinson, Trevor Millar and José Inzunza (Lucid News).
Rating shown4.5 from 52 reviews, as shown on recovery.com on 2026-10-20.

Legal context, Mexico: Ibogaine is unregulated in Mexico: not scheduled and not approved as a medicine. There is no ibogaine-specific licence; some clinics state a general COFEPRIS health-facility licence on their sites. Most programs that serve Americans are here. Programs in Mexico.

Compare

Nearest other programs

Location

ProgramsUnconfirmedUS clinical trialANR (no ibogaine)

People's experiences

Research checked . How we read the accounts.

Reddit accounts praise the staff, home setting and feeling cared for, while a family member describes integration support as inconsistent. Other commenters describe uneven intake communication and uncertainty about wait times. The same thread mixes Mexico and Malta experiences, so location matters. Staff replies and medical explanations are kept separate from visitor accounts.

Research sources: Read on Reddit (1) Read on Reddit (2) Read on Recovery.com

Care in the house

Self-described visitors praise attentive people and a comfortable house setting; this describes their experience rather than establishing a safety standard.

Read on Reddit

Before and after the visit

The discussion includes concerns about intake responsiveness, changing availability and inconsistent integration support.

Read on Reddit

Read the sources (3 pages)

These are source pages, not a count of people or reviews. Accounts can be repeated across sites.

Read the accounts alongside the published facts and ask the program about its current arrangements. Explore other centers.

Public record

  • Treatment site for the Stanford study of 30 special-operations veterans published in Nature Medicine on January 5, 2024 (no cardiac events reported) and the Nature Mental Health follow-up of July 2025.

    Source: Stanford Medicine, Jan 2024
  • On January 21, 2026 Ambio announced that a patient in its Detoxification Program had died. It declined to give details and announced enhanced screening, longer detox stays and a 21-day minimum for fentanyl users.

    Source: Ambio statement, Jan 2026

Questions

Where does Ambio Life Sciences treat patients?

Private, resort-like "fully staffed homes" rather than a hospital.

Who is on the medical team at Ambio Life Sciences?

Physicians, with Dr. José Inzunza as chief medical officer; 24/7 on-site medical staff "trained in emergency response"; equipment described as built for advanced life support. All clients have received IV magnesium prophylaxis since 2014 (Scientific American, on the Stanford study).

What screening does Ambio Life Sciences do before treatment?

EKG within 60 days and a blood panel (potassium, magnesium, liver) before arrival. Methadone and Suboxone patients must transition to short-acting opioids, with a supervised taper offered; SSRIs, antipsychotics and stimulants are tapered; alcohol abstinence of at least 7 days. Since January 2026 fentanyl users must stay at least 21 days.

How long do you stay at Ambio Life Sciences?

Foundational program 5 days; Detoxification program 7 to 30 days; Neuroregenerative program 4 days plus 3 months of microdosing.

What does Ambio Life Sciences cost?

$7,350 to $30,000 by program (site). Blog, March 2024: Foundational $8,350 for 5 days, Detoxification $9,350 to $30,000 for 7 to 28 days, Neuroregenerative $7,350.. $1,000 off for veterans and first responders; alumni rate $5,350.

What happens after treatment at Ambio Life Sciences?

A "Gray Day" recovery period, integration, coaching, optional microdosing and booster sessions.

Is there anything on the public record about Ambio Life Sciences?

Treatment site for the Stanford study of 30 special-operations veterans published in Nature Medicine on January 5, 2024 (no cardiac events reported) and the Nature Mental Health follow-up of July 2025. On January 21, 2026 Ambio announced that a patient in its Detoxification Program had died. It declined to give details and announced enhanced screening, longer detox stays and a 21-day minimum for fentanyl users.