Ibogaine Programs Saved 0

Iboga Wellness Institute

Also known as: IWI, theibogainstitute.org (not the Costa Rica "Iboga Wellness Center")

Cozumel, Mexico. Last checked .

Covered lounge looking toward the lawn, pool and sea at the Iboga Wellness Institute's Ocean Sanctuary
Photo from Iboga Wellness Institute website

Physician-led program on Cozumel with an anesthesiologist as medical director, EKG before and after treatment, and stays from 5 to 30 days.

Facts

Facts about Iboga Wellness Institute
CategoryPhysician-led ibogaine program in private retreats
StatusOperating. Site updated October 2026, phone listed. Note: Blossom's directory conflates this program with the Iboga Wellness Center in Costa Rica, which is a different, root-bark retreat.
LocationsThree private retreats on Cozumel (Azure Cove, Ocean Sanctuary, The Reserve) | US address in Columbus, Ohio
Setting"Private medical facility" operating in retreat villas.
Medical teamPhysician-led: a chief medical director (anesthesiologist), a psychiatry and addiction consultant, a sports-medicine physician, a head nurse and an RN coordinator; "physicians on-site 24/7" and "ICU-trained nursing". A cardiologist is not mentioned.
Screening before treatmentBaseline 12-lead EKG, echocardiogram if warranted, electrolyte labs 48 hours before, blood chemistry, and a post-treatment EKG within 24 hours. Fasting rules. SSRIs, SNRIs, MAOIs, tricyclics, antipsychotics, benzodiazepines and stimulants are tapered; opioid-dependent patients are "stabilized onsite". A methadone or Suboxone taper rule is not stated.
What is givenNot specified; "verified suppliers", tested for purity.
Who it is forOpioids, alcohol, stimulants, PTSD, depression, anxiety, grief, TBI and post-concussion syndrome, CTE, Parkinson's, MS, neuropathic pain, fibromyalgia, CRPS.
Protocol and length of stay5 to 30 days.
After the treatmentCheck-in calls at one week, one month and three months; integration therapists; peer groups; booster sessions.
Published priceNot on the pages we read. recovery.com: "From $7,500". Financing via Affirm and Credit Karma is offered.
Licences and accreditations statedNone stated; physicians list board certifications.
Founded / historyNot stated; claims 3,000+ treatments.
Rating shown5 from 16 reviews, as shown on recovery.com on 2026-10-20.

Legal context, Mexico: Ibogaine is unregulated in Mexico: not scheduled and not approved as a medicine. There is no ibogaine-specific licence; some clinics state a general COFEPRIS health-facility licence on their sites. Most programs that serve Americans are here. Programs in Mexico.

Compare

Nearest other programs

Location

ProgramsUnconfirmedUS clinical trialANR (no ibogaine)

People's experiences

Research checked . How we read the accounts.

Limited material found in this search.

One Reddit commenter explicitly names Iboga Wellness Institute in Cozumel and describes a meaningful but physically demanding stay, with a difficult early recovery. This is a short account from someone recently home. The external directory supplies program information, without readable individual review narratives in the page examined.

Research sources: Read on Reddit Read on Recovery.com

Allowing time after returning

The recent visitor describes exhaustion and difficulty sleeping during the early recovery period. A short report cannot show a typical recovery timeline.

Read on Reddit

A small outside evidence base

The opened directory supplies program information without readable individual review narratives. The recent Reddit comment is the main attributable visitor account in this search.

Read on Recovery.com Read on Reddit

Read the sources (2 pages)

These are source pages, not a count of people or reviews. Accounts can be repeated across sites.

Read the accounts alongside the published facts and ask the program about its current arrangements. Explore other centers.

Public record

No death, lawsuit or regulatory action involving this program was found in the sources checked. See the safety record guide for the risks that apply to every ibogaine program.

Questions

Where does Iboga Wellness Institute treat patients?

"Private medical facility" operating in retreat villas.

Who is on the medical team at Iboga Wellness Institute?

Physician-led: a chief medical director (anesthesiologist), a psychiatry and addiction consultant, a sports-medicine physician, a head nurse and an RN coordinator; "physicians on-site 24/7" and "ICU-trained nursing". A cardiologist is not mentioned.

What screening does Iboga Wellness Institute do before treatment?

Baseline 12-lead EKG, echocardiogram if warranted, electrolyte labs 48 hours before, blood chemistry, and a post-treatment EKG within 24 hours. Fasting rules. SSRIs, SNRIs, MAOIs, tricyclics, antipsychotics, benzodiazepines and stimulants are tapered; opioid-dependent patients are "stabilized onsite". A methadone or Suboxone taper rule is not stated.

How long do you stay at Iboga Wellness Institute?

5 to 30 days.

What does Iboga Wellness Institute cost?

Not on the pages we read. recovery.com: "From $7,500". Financing via Affirm and Credit Karma is offered.

What happens after treatment at Iboga Wellness Institute?

Check-in calls at one week, one month and three months; integration therapists; peer groups; booster sessions.

Is there anything on the public record about Iboga Wellness Institute?

No death, lawsuit or regulatory action involving this program was found in the sources checked.

Sources

  1. theibogainstitute.org
  2. Treatments and pricing page
  3. recovery.com Mexico list
  4. Blossom provider page (conflated listing)

Facts come from the program's website and the sources above, as read on 2026-10-20. Statements about safety, outcomes and patient numbers are the program's own. Represent this program? Send a correction.